You are currently in category: Members

Markus Steinkötter

Sunnyside upP® GmbH

After his job as project manager and instructor in the social and trade field Mr. Markus Steinkötter (42) studied mechanical engineering at the University Aix la Chapelle with special emphases on energy and environmentalism technique. During his studies he initiated a working group for solar-powered recumbent bicycles and spent a year studying abroad in South America where he looked after a project for the buildup of Solar Home Systems in 1998.

He developed the first highly automated PV-module production line worldwide with Pilkington Solar International and Flabeg Solar and realized this project as a project engineer in a leading position till 2002. Also the production line for building integrated modules was extended under his responsibility for projects like the Berlin main station.
In the same year he founded his own company Sunnyside upP® GmbH to realize further PV-module productions and to develop the technology further. Since then he and Sunnyside upP® make an essential contribution in the implementation of alternative and cost-efficient energy supply solutions.

To date module production lines with a total capacity of over 500 MWp have been realized in more than 10 countries worldwide for customers as they are – A2 peak – Calyxo – CSG Solar – Day4 Energy – Gällivare PhotoVoltaic AB – Scheuten Solar – SolarFactory – SolarWood Technologies S.A. – XL-Telekom & Energy Ltd. A further business segment includes the issue of surveys and expertise for investment plans of new participants on the market.

As managing director of Sunnyside upP® GmbH Dipl.-Eng. Markus Steinkötter looks after substantial projects worldwide and with his expertise significant contribution to the expansion of the individual companies. The fields of management consulting, technological development of PV-productions and advisory activities are an essential part of his current scope of activities.


  • Wilfried Rehme
  • Yakov Safir
  • Markus Steinkötter
  • Thomas Schmidt
  • Thomas C. Sauer
  • Dr. Wilhelm Stein